Dare: June Update

I realized that my last update for my word has been several months ago.  Listen To Your Mother Milwaukee was a great success.  I hope to use that experience and take the opportunity to share my story with others.

I finished up my final personal training session at work, but I’ve been participating in a strength training challenge at work as well as a half hour boot camp class on Mondays at noon.  My first boot camp class helped discover my long-lost motivation.  I might not be the fittest person in the class, but I would be the fastest.  When we did wind sprints, I was the fastest.  Unfortunately I got winded after that, and the rest of class was really challenging.  We are almost at the end of boot camp, and my cardio endurance has improved dramatically.  I have noticed a difference on how my clothes fit.  After boot camp has ended, three other women and I will be participating in group personal training sessions with our boot camp instructor.  We all discovered how much harder we work when we are within a group.  This is just what I need to kick my workouts up another notch. 

I am just under a month away from attending BlogHer in Chicago.  I am at the freaking out stage now.  I have a roommate, and I have my travel arrangements set.  I ordered my business cards, and I have mapped out my schedule.  Reality is sinking in that I will be one among 5000 other bloggers.  I need to just be myself and remind myself of the purpose of this conference.  I am going to be inspired by other bloggers and writers and to help hone my writing skills.  I get to meet many women who have inspired me on my journey – Katherine Stone and the amazing LTYM national team of Ann Imig, Deb Rox, and Stephanie Precourt. I’m a hugger and a crier so excuse my displays of emotion ladies!

I feel the most comfortable in my skin at this time.  It is such an amazing feeling.  This is what I want for my girls – to stand in their truth and be comfortable with who they are.  Of course I still struggle with self-doubt and insecurity, but I can quiet those critical voices.  I am daring greatly and throwing my hat in the ring. 

OneWord2013_Dare

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

