The Climb

A week ago today, I spent my Friday morning hiking with my good friend, a fellow Warrior Mom, in support of the fundraiser for Postpartum Progress, Inc. “Climb Out of the Darkness”.  It was overcast, but we wanted to get in our hike before the rain.  It began to sprinkle, but we decided to continue hiking.  It wasn’t until the skies opened up in a torrential downpour, soaking us that we decided to cut our hike short.  I missed the opportunity to take a picture before the hike.  Here is my impersonation of a drowned rat.

004

The hike was a physical, mental, emotional and spiritual experience for me just like my postpartum depression was.  It reminded me that we have to weather storms in our journey to healing.  The road to recovery is slow and arduous at times.  Sometimes I would have weeks of good days, and then I would backslide into depression and self-doubt.  I knew that I had the support of my family, my friends and the amazing Warrior Mom community that Katherine created at Postpartum Progress.   

I had so much fun with my friend.  We were able to just disconnect and be present in that moment without any thoughts of work, family or other responsibilities.  We talked about our journeys of postpartum depression, our faith and our families.  When we got caught in the downpour, we just laughed and laughed.  It was a stark contrast to how I would have handled something like in the throes of my postpartum depression.  I probably would have panicked and cried hysterically.  It was amazing that we were able to just handle the situation without any fear or any anxiety.  My friend and I continue to struggle with anxiety, but in that moment we were able to conquer this obstacle together.  We talked about how crucial support was to both of us.  It is okay to say to a friend struggling that I don’t know what to say except that I love her and I am here for her in whatever way she needs.  In my darkest moments, all I really needed was to know that someone else had been there before.  My friend G and I share that connection and that bond.  It has helped us both navigate our personal lives when they intersect with our professional lives.  Thank you G for the chance to get to know you even better and for a fun though abbreviated hike!

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Climb

  1. I’m so glad you hiked together, and your words “sometimes all I can say is that I love you and I’m here” are SO true and sometimes all that needs to be said. So glad you and I both know that. *HUG*

    • It is so easy to shy away from reaching out to someone because we feel like we don’t know what to say. I know that I still struggle with that at times. I need to keep reminding myself that sometimes I don’t need to say a lot. I just need to show that I care, and that is enough. *HUG* back.

  2. I totally agree with this sentiment: “we have to weather storms in our journey to healing.” So, so true. I’m so glad you had each other to do the climb together. It had so much meaning for you both. xoxo

Leave a Reply

