Finding my fitness mojo again

I read this post today by my friend Robin, and I needed to spill my guts about my inner runner.  I had made all sorts of excuses about why I could not run on a consistent basis.  I could not carve out enough time on a weekly basis.  I needed to just start with baby steps.  Truthfully I was only pushing myself to my fullest potential when I was working out with my personal trainer which meant that I was not getting the most out of my workouts.  I would usually just do a brisk walk on the treadmill and maybe jog for a mere thirty seconds.  Yet I would jog several laps during personal training sessions without complaint, and I welcomed the change of pace from strength training.

I decided to recover my lost motivation by signing up for a boot camp to help me jumpstart my exercise habits.  This class is at 11:30 a.m. on Mondays outside, rain or shine.  It turns out that I needed to be challenged by other people.  When Kyle, our instructor, said the words “wind sprints”; my inner competitor took over.  I realized that I might not the strongest or the fittest person in the group, but I would be the fastest.  Since that first camp, I have pushed myself to be the fastest in any sprint.

I spent seven years playing basketball from middle school through my junior year of high school.  I prided myself on being the fastest person on our team. I excelled at wind sprints.  When I played junior varsity, the decision to run more laps was based on whether anyone could beat me.  A teammate pushed me down so that I would be slowed down.  Not to be deterred, I called her a “bitch” and hauled ass to just make it to the finish line at the same time as the second fastest person on the team. Did I mention I went to a Catholic high school?  Sorry Mom and Dad, I have a potty mouth. 

So this inner competitor and speed demon just needs to be fed by a male, middle-aged coach who shouts at her to do some more wind sprints.  Who would have guessed that?  My inner critic will now be replaced by the voice of my favorite basketball coach (besides my dad) and have a booming baritone voice that makes me stand up straighter.  Coach Z, thank you for motivating me into the player that I was meant to be! I started shooting around again.  I miss basketball, but I felt self-conscious using my hoop at my house.  I need to work on my form so that I can help my girls learn the game that I love.  With a potty training two-year old, I need all the help I can get to be faster and able to leap over any obstacles in order to get my little lady on the potty before an accident.

Running for me is both a physical and emotional outlet.  I can outrun my nervous energy  and brighten my mood by listening to my very eclectic workout playlist.  My anxiety melts away after a hard run.  I get the best ideas when I literally clear my head and run.  Remind me dear friends of this post when I am tempted to give you excuses about why I can’t run.  Running is vital to both my physical and my mental well-being. 

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding my fitness mojo again

  1. I totally get you! I can think of every excuse in the book, but on that accidental run yesterday I found the runner in me who just wants to run. And I’m so glad!

    Funny you mention that about basketball. I took Connor over to the gym at our community centre a few weeks ago and we played with some balls in the gym. I shot a few hoops while we were there, and I loved it. Kind of made me want to play again too.

    • Yes! That magic words “wind sprints” just lit my competitive fire. It made so happy.

      The girls were amazed that I could dribble with a basketball in each hand. I want them to think of me as an athlete. I didn’t lose all my athletic ability once I became a mom.

  2. So awesome that you signed up for a Boot Camp! I’ve always wanted to, but it scares me.🙂

    Running is a wonderful anxiety-killer.

Leave a Reply

