Quest for the holy grail – bra shopping

After nursing for a combined total of thirty-three months, my old (non-nursing bras) just did not fit.  They were all stretched out.  I knew that I could not go up on stage without adequate foundation garments, so I planned a bra shopping trip just days before the LTYM show.  I was on a mission to find some foundation garments that would assist me in resisting gravity.

I did a quick poll of our cast members to find out where I could get a professional bra fitting.  Although Vicky’s used to hold a special place in my heart, I just didn’t feel the love from that store anymore.  They were marketing to the 20-somethings who didn’t have stretch marks, poochy tummies, and saggy boobs.  I needed something a bit more substantial, so I turned to other moms from the cast to help me out.  Pam suggested Soma. 

This store was like coming home.  I must have looked overwhelmed at all the different sizes, styles and colors.  A saleswoman asked me if I needed help.  I nearly gave her a hug.  I blurted out my entire life story.  “I need new bras desperately.  All of mine are stretched out.  I’m done having kids and nursing.  I don’t even know what size I am anymore.” She gently asked me what size I was wearing.  I tried that size on, and she remarked that I might need to go down a cup size.  She brought me a new size, and it fit perfectly.  Sigh. Yep, it is true.  My little ladies caused my band width to go up, but I went down a cup size.  I feel fantastic in my new bras, and I will be a repeat customer at Soma. 

To the patient saleswoman, thank you for your kindness and your understanding.  I acted like you were my new best friend.  In that moment, you were a new friend who was giving me back some confidence in my body.  It turns out the fashion magazines were right.  The right bra really does work wonders.

LTYM Jen and Alexandra

Photo courtesy of Orphonic Multimedia – the lovely Alexandra and I before our LTYM show

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quest for the holy grail – bra shopping

  1. Pam Stein says:

    Happy to have helped you find your holy grail!

Leave a Reply

