Ten Years

Ten years ago today, I married my best friend.  I did not think that it would be possible to love him more than I did on our wedding day, but I do.  He has been my rock and my touchstone.  We went through some really dark times when I was struggling with my undiagnosed postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  The road to recovery was a slow process.  Luke never wavered in his love or support.  He kept our household running.  He shouldered the burden of meal preparation, taking care of the girls, running errands, and solo parenting on nights when I had therapy. 

I know that hearing our story read aloud at the LTYM show was difficult for Luke.  It is emotional to hear those hard times read out loud and verbalized.  My husband is one of the kindest and most loving people I know.  Luke meant it when he took our marriage vows in sickness and health.  He reminded me of that when I was at my lowest.  He planned a special anniversary celebration for us this weekend.  I am so grateful to have listened to my intuition when it told me that I should ask him out.  Happy anniversary, sweetie!  Here’s to many more!

Jen

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten Years

  1. Happy 10th Anniversary (a bit late!)! I hope you had a wonderful anniversary celebration – you deserve it!🙂

Leave a Reply

