Tapping the Mic: Is This Thing On?

Is this thing on?  Taps the mic a few times.  Oh no, I have just gotten the evil eye from my technical director.  Tapping the mic is a no-no.  In all seriousness, I have the utmost respect for the technical director at our venue.  I have not and I would not tap that mic. 

Listen To Your Mother has consumed me, and it has been a magical journey which will come to an end tomorrow afternoon as our Milwaukee cast takes the stage.  I am equal parts nervous and exhilarated.  I feel at home on a stage, yet reading my words out loud in front of friends and strangers makes me vulnerable.  I believe strongly that everyone has a story to tell.  The beauty of LTYM is that “me too” moment that happens as I listen to all these stories.  Our cast is very diverse.  We truly are from around the entire metro Milwaukee area.  We celebrate our differences.  We recognize our commonalities by sharing our stories with each other.  That is truly magical.  I have met so many amazing people through this experience.  This project inspires and challenges me on a daily basis.  tomorrow the work of several months with my lovely partner in crime, Alexandra, we will have pulled it off!

Thank you to my patient and loving husband and daughters.  They have lived this project with me.  I want to thank my parents and my in-laws for their unwavering support.  Thank to our amazing cast.  Thank you to the Ann Imig, Stephanie Precourt, and Deb Rox of the national team for giving Milwaukee this opporutnity!  Thank you to the lovely Chicago team – Melisa Wells and Tracey Becker – who have responded to all my newbie questions with humor, grace and wisdom.  Break a leg to Chicago and Oklahoma City who are also hosting their LTYM shows tomorrow!

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tapping the Mic: Is This Thing On?

  1. We did it, Jen. Holy moley, but we did it. I love you!

  2. Did you nail it????
    I’m sure you all did. xoxo

Leave a Reply

