How (Not) To Celebrate A 21st Birthday

I had just returned from a semester abroad in Spain. I was finally getting acclimated again to college life in the States. I threw myself back into campus life and became involved in several extracurricular activities. As my mom will tell you, I tend to overdo it.

I knew I was getting a sinus infection, so I went to the campus health clinic. They asked me if I had ever taken sulfates for sinus infections. I told them that I had not, but I knew that my parents were both highly allergic to this medication.

My roommates decided to surprise me with a twenty-first birthday party. I drank chocolate milk and whipped cream in lieu of blow job shots. I had decided the day before that I would not be going to the bars the night of my birthday since I still felt sick.

My face was really flushed, and I felt like a truck had run me over. I called my mom, and she asked me to check if I had hives. I was covered in hives. We dialed the nurse hotline, and they recommended that I go to the emergency room immediately. Since my face was swollen, it was only a matter of time before my throat closed up. That is how I ended up in the ER on my twenty-first birthday due to a severe allergic reaction to sulfa prescribed to me after a sinus infection.

The paramedics were so sweet and kind. The blew up their gloves to make me birthday balloons. I was given medication to stop the swelling and inflammation which made me want to go for a run. My roommates made me realize that was not the wisest choice after such a severe allergic reaction.

Since I was taken by ambulance, the local paper published my name and address. My mother had cousins in the area who saw my name on the ambulance runs. They did not want to call my mother because they thought I made this trip to have my stomach pumped due to alcohol poisoning. When her cousin finally spoke to my mom, she laughed and told them my sad tale. I was on steroids, so I was unable to celebrate my birthday in style until ten days later. My words of wisdom are this:

  1. Drinking beer and then shooting tequila will give you a terrible hangover.
  2. Thank the friend who keeps you safe that night. Tori, thank you for picking me up off the ground as I slipped and slid in the snow. I appreciate it. Sorry this thank you is sixteen years late.
  3. Do not make fun of your sober roommate Robyn who will take care of your pitiful ass later.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How (Not) To Celebrate A 21st Birthday

  1. Oh honey. Bless your heart. Really.🙂

Leave a Reply

