All You Need Is Love

A’Driane,

I am so delighted for you and Bert as you embark on the amazing journey of marriage.  On your wedding day, my husband and I will celebrate 9 years and 10 months.  I wish for you a solid foundation of trust, respect, and friendship.  I wish for you more joy than sorrow and more laughter than tears.  My marriage has weathered many storms, most recently my struggle with postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  We made it through.  Bert has your back, and you have his.  You are equals and partners.  I can see how much love radiates through the photos I see.  My marriage advice was given to me by my paternal grandpa.  He said “Don’t go to bed angry even when you want to tell your spouse to go to hell.  Give them a kiss and forgive them.”  He and my grandma celebrated forty years of marriage and were blessed with seven children.  They shared an amazing connection, and they were truly soul mates. 

As your musical soul mate sister, I have prepared a little playlist for you, courtesy of my wedding CD that my husband and I made ten years ago.  Enjoy.

Something by the Beatles

Sweetest thing by U2

Sail Away by David Gray

Two of Us – Aimee Mann and Michael Penn

Love of My Life – Santana featuring Dave Matthews

Sunday Morning Call – Oasis

Waste – Phish

Thank You – Led Zeppelin

At Last – Etta James

There She Goes – Sixpence None the Richer 

Ten Story Love Song – Stone Roses

Is This Love – Bob Marley

God Only Knows – The Beach Boys

Into Your Arms – The Lemonheads

Never My  Love – The Association

F. N. T. – Semisonic

The Luckiest – Ben Folds

She’s the One – Robbie Williams

Fell in Love with a Girl – The White Stripes

I am also sending you a little video.  My gift to all of my close friends is to sing at their wedding.  Since I cannot be there in person, I will immortalize myself on YouTube for you. 

All my love,

Jen

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All You Need Is Love

  1. This is a great playlist! And it would make a great mixed tape! LOL remember mixed tapes? Thanks for being a part of this celebration, Jen.

    • I still have some awesome mixed tapes. My car has a tape player and CD player. You are so welcome. Thank you so much for organizing this, Susan. I should have taken a picture of our CD cover for this. This playlast was made into a CD that we gave to our wedding guests for our favors.

Leave a Reply

