My little ballerina

I signed Munch up for dance class. She had been begging me since this summer when a friend of hers had a birthday party at a dance studio. I did some research, and I found an amazing studio about five minutes from our house. When I saw Munch twirl around the studio, I knew I had made the right decision.

This studio introduces the children to the basics of ballet, tap, tumbling and movement. This is the type of training I had. The dancer in me squealed with delight that her hair needs to be in a bun. I swooned over the gorgeous ballet and tap shoes.

I loved dance, and I miss it dearly. I danced ballet for 6 1/2 years, pointe for 2 1/2 years, 1 year of tap and 1 year of jazz. These skills never taught me to be less clumsy much to my mom’s chagrin. It gave me a leg up in auditions since I could pick up choreography quickly. As I got into my later twenties, I became discouraged with dance. All these young girls in community theatre with me were so much better. I was carrying around extra pounds, and my body didn’t move like it used to.

I hope that dance and performing brings Munch the same joy it brought me. I am spending my journey back to physical strength by indulging in my old passion – dance. It is an amazing workout, and I miss it. Keep your fingers crossed that I can find some money in the budget for a pair of tap shoes for myself. 

This studio espouses the same classical training that I took. I am cognizant that this is Munch’s choice, not mine. So I’m sitting outside the studio, enjoying some quiet time. She and I decided together where I should sit. My greatest joy is helping her learn the concepts. It’s do amazing when she gets it. I can see the lightbulb go off in her mind as she learns to control her body. I am grateful that we share this mutual interest for now.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My little ballerina

  1. Awwww, E does ballet class and loves it! Such a good way for them to learn to take care of their bodies and to be a part of a group, too.

    • I love this studio. This past weekend Munch went into class without me while I waited in the studio lobby. I now know what size I am in tap shoes. They are only $32.00 through our studio. I think that mama needs a pair of tap shoes. I miss dance so much, and tapping was an amazing workout!

  2. Isn’t it cool when things come full circle. I was so excited when my son told me he wanted to play baseball and Shawn was excited that he wanted to play hockey.
    i think that sports, dance, etc teaches kids so much. I’m glad that you signed her up. Enjoy those sweet moments. They are the cure for any bad day🙂

  3. That’s so cool. I used to dance as well. I sort of wish I could do it again, but I can’t imagine what I’d look like now. Not nearly coordinated enough!

Leave a Reply

