My secret life

I made a joke with my coworkers the other day about the number of e-mail accounts that I have. They were horrified when I nonchalantly mentioned that I had four e-mail accounts. One of these accounts is my work account. I have a personal yahoo account, and I have a Gmail account for this blog. I also help to manage a group e-mail for our LTYM show.

I must confess that I also own two cell phones. One of these phones is a Blackberry that I use for work. I only have my work e-mail and one application downloaded on my Blackberry. This phone is equipped with an international calling plan because I work with a global team spread all over from Israel, India, Austria, France, China, Korea, and Japan. On any given day I can be found on international conference calls at all hours of the day. My personal cell phone is my iPhone. I have dozens of apps loaded on my phone: Twitter, Facebook, my three personal e-mail accounts, my blog, my RSS feed for reading blogs, Facebook Messenger and a page application to manage the administration of two Facebook pages.

I had no idea how tuned I was to social media until I began talking more to my coworkers. Since we are so connected at work, many of my colleagues choose not to be as connected in their personal lives. I have only friended a few coworkers on Facebook. Only two coworkers know that I blog. I also have done Google plus hangouts which is way more fun than a teleconference. I have entered the world of Pinterest, but I have not succumbed to its siren call yet. So friends, family and colleagues, I have a confession. My name is Jen, and I am a social media addict. I have nearly had panic attacks when I have left my beloved iPhone. My addiction has become better. It had to. My husband put his foot down. I listened to the wise words of my friend, Alexandra. My sweet friend Story recommended the Power Down podcast hosted by the Sits Girls. I am working on setting limits on my social media usage. Right now I still feel like I live a double life with my colleagues – my online life and my offline life.

Is it just me? Am I the only one alone in this? How much should I disclose to my colleagues, friends and family?

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My secret life

  1. I love this because I know you in person. And I SEE THIS.

    • I know you do. I have made it a point to unplug deliberately. Now I just need to work on how often I check my e-mail. So much of it is just junk e-mail and sales alerts. I need to set up specific times to check on that. I am consciously making the effort to really focus on just being with Luke and the girls.

  2. jblog says:

    Remember back then…when life was simple? All we needed was a dime to make a phone call on a payphone! Lol. I could totally relate to you!

  3. Jessica says:

    That’s why I’ve been trying to spend less time on the computer. I’m an addict too

  4. Ack…my comment got sucked away somewhere….
    Anyways, that’s why I take breaks. I don’t like to devote my time to the interwebs when I can spend it with my fam and friends.

  5. quinn0808 says:

    I’m with you except for me I don’t have many friends so my socail media is how I get adult conversation. Now that hubs is working more and more this is my only way to talk to other moms, girls all that. I try to limit also I’m usually on in the morning or at night. I try to make sure I’m concentrating on lil one other than that. Although since Pinterest is considered socail media it’s kinda become a part of my job. I use it for homeschool stuff, cooking, cleaning, crafting and many more. It’s hard though

    • It is a tough balance. I struggle with information overload too. That is why I haven’t spent so much time on Pinterest. I am afraid that I would get in there and not be able to stop. : ) Having adult conversation is key for those of us with young kids. Plus it’s instant validation that we aren’t the only ones who are dealing with an issue.

  6. You are definitely not alone! I’m impressed by your four email accounts and two phones, though. LOL The hubs and I are pretty much glued to our iPhones like an extra appendage.

    • Kristin, I do not think I would have as many email accounts if it weren’t for work. I had a friend suggest that I forward emails to one main account. I am considering that as an option or just organizing my emails.

  7. Rach DonutsMama says:

    Sometimes I *almost* wish I hadn’t gotten so involved in blogging/twitter/FB. Before I stayed home I never paid attention to any of this stuff. Ever. But I can’t deny the good I’ve found either. It’s a matter of balance, which is really, really hard.

    • Rach, I really stumbled onto all of this when I was looking for support I could not find in real life. It is a tricky balance and I am trying to manage it as best as I can. Parenthood causes so many relationships to evolve and change. I’m renewing my connections with all my friends. I really stepped away for a while just trying to heal. Now I feel like I am ready to hang out with friends and be more social.

Leave a Reply

