My 2 year old Id

I have decided that my two-year old Skeeter functions as my id. She approaches life like it is a buffet for her to enjoy. Skeeter demands attention, food and affection, not necessarily in that order. She whirls around the house, leaving piles of toys and crumbs in her wake. Skeeter is like a hurricane.

Her emotions are always visible. If Skeeter is upset, she will scream or cry the heart wrenching cry of a child in pain. She knows exactly how to tug on my heartstrings with her ear-splitting cries. Whenever Skeeter is admonished for making a poor choice, she loudly decrees, “I will be nice”. We are working with her on her choices. Skeeter is very verbal, but she is using physical force instead of her words to voice her displeasure or frustration. My husband and I are reminding her to use gentle touches. We do not allow hitting, kicking, punching, pinching, or biting. The list of unacceptable behavior keeps growing.

At times, I envy her ability to just seize life with all her gusto and zest. I wish that I could stomp my feet and scream when I do not get my way. I wish that I could eat breakfast, second breakfast, morning snack, lunch, afternoon snack, and supper without gaining a ton of weight. She is in the midst of a growth spurt, and I joke that Skeeter has a hollow leg. Skeeter will demand whatever my husband and I are eating if she is already done with her meal. I admire her ability to shower her family and friends with her unbridled emotion and affection. I never have to guess how Skeeter is feeling. She will loudly announce, “I cried cause I were sad”. Skeeter breaks into song all the time, and she loves to dance.

My darling Skeeter, please continue to embrace life. I love how much you are influenced by music. I wish that she would exercise a bit more self-control and sleep a bit better, but she is only two years old. Sometimes Skeeter talks to me just like an adult, and I forget how much of a baby she still is. Skeeter needs her daddy and I to keep her from herself. We have her best interests at heart.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My 2 year old Id

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your little one. Love it.

  2. Oh just like my baby… when she’s upset, you can obviously feel it. I hate it when she screams…

Leave a Reply

