Letter to my friend

My dear Katja,

I am so glad that you came to visit with us the other weekend. I missed you. We all missed you. I know that you have been struggling. The black dog of depression has had you in its vise like grip. Please remember that depression is a lying bastard.

Your light is visible for all to see. Your inner radiance is still there. I can see her lurking behind the veil of sadness. You made a brave and courageous choice. You are not alone. You are loved. You will get better. I promise you that.

I know how much of a struggle it is for you to get up in the morning. Consider every day that you wake a new day and a clean slate. Give yourself grace on those really dark days when all you can do is get the kids to school. Cherish those little moments of joy and happiness wherever you can find them. Thank you so much for the pleasure of your company and your generosity which knows no bounds. I hope that the book I loaned you will instill your being with radiance and love. You deserve companionship, love and friendship. You are worthy of so much more than your past relationships have given you. You are a treasure, and you deserve to be treated like the exquisite jewel you are.

You are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I am keeping your lovely children in my thoughts. Wishing you peace, joy and more sweet than bitter.

Namaste,

Jen

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting, self care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Letter to my friend

  1. Charity says:

    What a beautiful letter. I hope she finds her light.

  2. GrandeMocha says:

    I can tell you love her and want the best for her and her family. I wish her good luck. Hugs!

  3. Jessica says:

    That was beautiful

  4. So special and so true.

    She is lucky to have you in her life to remind her. I hope that she leans on you if she needs to and finds her way through the darkness again.

  5. Dear tranquil mama! What a beautiful letter! I hope your friend begins to see her light again.

  6. quinn0808 says:

    You are such a wonderful friend. We are all so lucky to know you. Hope your friend makes it through

Leave a Reply

