Why I don’t bowl: play date edition

Munch and I went on a play date with Munch’s bestie, Daphne and her mom Velma.  Daphne and Munch share a mutual love of Scooby Doo and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  I was so happy to get a chance to know Velma better. 

We got all of us shoes, and they put the bumpers up.  Both girls decided that it was time to get some snacks after the third frame.  The little girls had kiddie cocktails and chips.  Velma had a bloody Mary, and I settled on a root beer.  My choice of beverage was a wise choice given what was in store for me later.

On the ninth frame, Munch decided to kick the bowling ball.  She struggled a lot with getting enough speed on the bowling ball.  The owner had to rescue two stuck balls.  In my haste to prevent her from breaking a toe, I tried to stop the ball.  Yep, I ran down the bowling aisle that is all slick.  I slipped and fell hard on my head and my butt. 

I gingerly got up and walked back to Velma.  All I could whisper was “shit”.  How could I have been so stupid?  I managed to finish the last frames, and I drove us home.  I also endured Munch’s admonitions about not running on the lanes.  I had to finally tell her that I did not need to be reminded every two minutes of my sheer stupidity.  Thankfully I escaped without a concussion.  My headache finally disappeared after Tylenol, an ice pack and a nap.  Velma, I would love another play date, but I think we should stick to non bowling activities from now on.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why I don’t bowl: play date edition

  1. mindbender99 says:

    Too funny… and I can relate… I have had many instances where I was the victim of the ill fated line crossing… Hope your head is better today🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    oh my word you poor thing! Something I totally would have done. Hope you feel better (physically and emotionally;))

  3. story3girl says:

    Oh my goodness. I would have tried to crawl through the floor. Hope your butt feels better. This may be the first time I’ve mentioned your butt in a blog comment.

  4. Oh no! I’m sad to say I’ve totally slipped before. Those floors are waxed so slick it’s easy to fall down!

  5. jamesandjax says:

    Ouch! I am glad I didn’t read this before I took Jax bowling for his first time ever last weekend! I probably would have chickened out! This sounds so much like something I would have done!

    • I was glad you didn’t read until after you took Jax either. Clearly I was not thinking. I just reacted. I do plan on going bowling again, but I don’t think I will return to the same bowling alley for a little bit.

Leave a Reply

