Bittersweet

Like so many others who have written more eloquently than I, I was stunned and horrified at the tragedy that unfolded in Newtown, Connecticut last Friday. I have spent the past week sprinting to the end of the year at work. I needed to insulate myself from the news. I avoided Facebook and Twitter because it was too triggering. Those babies were just a year older than my Munch. I blocked out the sorrow, panic, and anxiety until the drive home from work. All I could do was sob and think of all the parents who could not spend more time with their babies.

This holiday season I am choosing self care as my preservation to survive the chaos of the holiday season. I am choosing to view this season through the perspective of my beautiful little girls. My family, my friends, and my faith sustain me. Have a blessed holiday season and keep all those grieving losses in your hearts and prayers.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bittersweet

  1. mammacockatoo says:

    I insulated myself initially too. Somewhat easier in some ways, from this side of the world, but the internet decreases that insulation. I’m glad you were able to channel your energy into work and your beautiful family. Self-care is a must, and I hope you get all that you need to.

    I join my thoughts and prayers with yours for all families grieving at this time.

    • Thank you so much Margaret. I did not realize how mentally and physically exhausted I was after this past week. It helps that I have global colleagues who take my mind off of current events. I have been spending lots of time with my family and trying to enjoy the holidays as best as I can.

Leave a Reply

