How Not to Respond to a Proposal

Future brides to be, heed my words of warning.  My husband gleefully reminded me of how I botched my reply to his proposal the other night.  His advice to our daughters was:

1.  Do not use profanity.

2.  Reply with an answer within a few seconds

My husband proposed to me in an idyllic setting.  We climbed up the bluff on my grandpa’s property.  We went to the edge of the bluff where you could see other bluffs and the Wisconsin River sparkling in the distance.  I could smell the crisp scent of the pine needles that surrounded us.

I am afraid of heights.  When my husband suggested that we stand and look out, I told him, “I would rather sit”.  He compromised and suggested that we both stand.  He told me that he wouldn’t let go of me.  He turned around for a moment and then brought out the jewelry box with the ring in it.

My heart plunged all the way down to the bottom of the bluff.  His proposal stunned me.  I could not speak for a few moments.  Until I burst out with “You shit! You shit!” We had talked about marriage, but I had not anticipated a proposal so soon.  He had to ask me if my reply was a yes.  I tearfully stammered out a yes and put the gorgeous ring on my finger.  I spent the entire trip climbing back down the bluff staring at my ring.  What is amazing is that I did not trip or that the ring did not fall off.

Why don’t I have a picture of the actual proposal?  I was wearing a baseball hat, hiking shorts and a baggy T-shirt.  My perfume was Deep Woods Off.  I was sweaty after climbing up to the top of the bluff.  My grandpa insisted that I wear a hat to protect myself from ticks.  I was not glamorous at all, but it was a magical proposal even if my response shocked my future husband.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Not to Respond to a Proposal

  1. addyeB says:

    This is why you’re probably one of the coolest & funniest women I know….and I’m sure the only woman I know who could make hiking clothes & sweat look hip and sophisticated.🙂

    • Addye,
      I laugh every time I tell my proposal story, and so does my husband. What a sweet compliment! I’m not sure how hip I made everything look. I think it was a pretty baggy t-shirt At least my grandpa didn’t insist that Luke and I wear in jeans in 80 degree weather to climb up there.

  2. story3girl says:

    LOL. I love this. This is the most real response I can imagine in that moment, which makes it perfect.

    • We had only been dating for eleven months. He had been working at his job for eight months. I knew that he did not have enough money saved up to buy a ring. In my logical mind, a proposal was a long way off. My engagement ring is a family ring, and it is stunning.

    • Thank you. Sadly no photos were taken to document the actual proposal. I don’t know if I would have let him take my picture anyway. I was super stylish with my baseball hat and Deep Woods Off perfume.

Leave a Reply

