Finding direction

How many of us truly find direction in our lives? My lovely friend wrote this amazing post about finding purpose.  Go read it now.  I will wait.  http://hardtomommy.blogspot.com/2012/07/building-cathedral.html

I was the first person to comment on her post.  That parable really resonated deep in my soul.  I was able to articulate my professional purpose with ease.  I enjoy my job, my boss and my colleagues.  I struggle with finding my purpose as a mother and as a woman. 

I think that purpose and direction go hand in hand.  You will not feel fulfilled if you do not have some direction with your purpose.  You will feel like you are floundering.  I spent some much of my twenties and thirties searching for my purpose and my direction.  I found my purpose and my direction this year.  My lovely friend Kim stated it so simply in a comment on another post.  I am “using my voice to help others”.

I am taking more risks in my personal life.  I reached out to a local blogger, the lovely Alexandra.  We struck up a friendship, and I am helping her bring Listen to Your Mother Show to Milwaukee.  I educated my boss and my colleagues on postpartum mood disorders.  I let my entire extended family know that I am a blogger.  I just took part in a research study on how PPD transformed me.  That researcher planted a seed in my mind about returning to graduate school and obtaining my master’s degree.  I am attending a blogging conference this summer. 

I am open to possibilities and new experiences.  I am currently reading Brene Brown’s Daring Greatly.  I am choosing to take risks and be vulnerable.  I want to truly participate in my life.  I do not want to just go through the motions anymore.  It’s exhilarating and terrifying all at the same time.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finding direction

  1. Yes, Jen. YES.

    Who will live our lives for us, if we don’t.
    I’m happy, fortunate, smiling, that we will always know each other. Only minutes away. xo

  2. addyeB says:

    So proud and happy for you & the direction your journey has taken you. You’re such a beautiful woman in and out with valuable wisdom and insight to share. Your voice and spirit are ones that are needed in our society today. Keep doing YOU Jenny, because YOU and what you bring to the lives of those around you (and in your computer!) are irreplaceable. Love you.

    • Addye,

      Your comment made me tear up. I am so grateful to have “met” you. Your spirit and your love of color made me realize what I was missing in my life. I missed music, and I love vibrant colors. Sometimes all we need are those small bursts of color to break through the gray and dreariness. Love you.

  3. story3girl says:

    I am so proud of you. This post made me smile from ear to ear. YES. Your purpose is to use your beautiful voice to help others. The most amazing thing is that you are not hiding from that purpose. You discovered it, and you immediately took actions. You are making such a huge difference. The world is so lucky to have you.

    • Thank you sweetie. I really feel called and compelled to my purpose and my direction now for the first time. The world is so lucky to have you and your kindness. Without your kindness on Twitter, I have no idea where I would be.

  4. jamesandjax says:

    You’re an inspiration, Jenny. Something has been on my mind an awful lot lately–owning that I am a blogger. I’ve been doing it since September 2010, but I don’t talk about it much in my “real” life. I realize I’ve been kind of keeping it separate. I don’t ask family or friends to read my blog or like my Facebook page. I avoid using my real, full name in association with my blog. I’m not daring greatly–I’m not daring at all. Being vulnerable is very uncomfortable to me. My voice is present, it just isn’t loud. But you’ve got me thinking now. And Brene Brown’s book is on my must-read list, so maybe now is the time to raise my voice. Thank you for making me think about this in a different way.

    • Jaime,

      I am flattered and humbled that I got you to think of this in a different way. You are one of the bloggers that I look up to and admire. I am nearly done with Daring Greatly. It really spoke to me. You will find your voice. I know it.

Leave a Reply

