Strong Start Day: Join Me

I was asked by both my mom and my sister this week about what they could have done better to help me in my struggle with postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  Is there something that they could have said to me to give me comfort when I was struggling?  Should either my mom or my sister have reached out to my husband?  Hindsight is always 20/20, isn’t it?

My advice for my mom, my sister, my loved ones and my dear readers is to just listen.  Ask if the mama is okay.  If she says that she is okay, but you know she is not, just tell her that it is okay to not be okay.  Tell her that you love her and that you are there for her whenever she needs to talk.  Listen without judgement.  Do not rush to give advice.  All struggling mamas want is validation, love and support. 

Here is what you can do for me today.  Katherine Stone of Postpartum Progress is using today to get donations for Postpartum Progress, Inc.  This year she is raising funds to provide the information to doctors, nurses and clinicians in pamphlets and brochures for the women who do not have easy access to the Internet.  All mamas and babies deserve a strong start and access to information regarding postpartum mood disorders.  I am a proud supporter, and I will be donating again this year.  Please join me, won’t you?

Here’s the URL that links to the secure donation page for Postpartum Progress:

https://npo1.networkforgood.org/Donate/Donate.aspx?npoSubscriptionId=1004839&code=Strong%20Start%202012

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Strong Start Day: Join Me

  1. Frelle says:

    Im so glad you wrote about your experience here. So proud of you, and grateful along with you for Katherine’s Post Partum Progress site. *HUG*

    • Thank you so much Frelle. I am forever grateful for Katherine’s site and all the friends I have made throughout this journey towards hope and recovery. So grateful to call you my friend. Hugs.

  2. You have such support, J. I’m happy for that.

    • A, I could not have made it through without the love and support of my family. They didn’t always understand, but they continued to ask questions and be there to help even when I didn’t know what I needed or wanted. I’m forever grateful for that unconditional love.

  3. great post. great story of growth and understanding of mental illness. crying.

Leave a Reply

