Why I Dislike Orange Fanta and Chorizo

I loathe Orange Fanta.  I nearly tossed my cookies during my three-hour fasting glucose test because the lab technician gave me orange soda.  It all began with a little fun in the country (el pueblo). 

My lovely host parents invited me to spend the weekend with them at the house of Mari Flor’s parents.  I went out with Mari Flor’s brother, Richard to a local discotheque in the middle of nowhere.  I decided to drink whatever everyone else was drinking.  I was still in my mute stage at that point.  I really did not talk much.  I was trying to desperately to listen to everything and really understand.  So I started drinking screwdrivers except these were made with cheap vodka and orange Fanta.

Richard discovered that I could dance.  I needed to do something other than just smile and sit in a corner.  I learned how to salsa and rumba.  I was being spun around and around.  See mom all my years of ballet, tap, pointe and jazz paid off!  I can pick up most dances fairly quickly.  Except all that alcohol and all that spinning was a combination for disaster.

On our way back to the house, I realized that I had become that typical image that I wanted so desperately to avoid during my stay in Spain – the completely drunk American student who was about to lose her lunch.  Except I needed to alert the driver about this issue.  I blurted out in broken Spanish “Necesitas parar el coche ahora!” (You need to stop the car now!)  Richard opened the door for me, and I threw up on the side of the road. 

I woke up the next morning with the worst hangover that I had experienced that point and fully clothed with shoes on.  Did I mention that I wore my Timberland hiking boots a lot when I was in Spain?  My feet felt as heavy as my head did.  I washed up and changed clothes to come downstairs for lunch only to have a wonderful lunch of rice and chorizo.  I could barely eat a bite of the chorizo without gagging.  I still do not partake of any chorizo or orange Fanta to this day.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in traveling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I Dislike Orange Fanta and Chorizo

  1. katery says:

    i feel the same way about gin and ruby red squirt due to a ridiculous night when i was 18. haven’t touched either since.

  2. jess says:

    Hehe. That’s too funny. But also it’s an amazing experience and quite a story to tell!

Leave a Reply

