Just Be Enough: When Enough is Not Enough

This week’s prompt on JBE is when enough is not enough.  I am at that point in my life right now.  I am learning to manage my stress, but it is not enough.  The anxiety is still there, lurking in the corners.  Anxiety makes me doubt myself. 

Why am I not coping as well as  I could be?  Two words: self-care.  Simply put, I am not taking time for myself to recharge my own batteries and focus on my needs.  I need adequate rest.  I need to move more. 

To be enough, I am taking steps to take care of my physical self.  I am making more mindful food choices.  I am committing to make time for a fifteen to twenty-minute walk each day at work.  I am joining our on site fitness center; it is free for employees. 

I just got tested again for diabetes, and my A1C was well within the normal level.  If I want to continue to prevent type II diabetes, I need to commit myself to exercise.  I worried about my physical health a lot when I was pregnant with both girls because I had gestational diabetes.  Now that I am no longer pregnant or nursing, I need to pay the same level of attention to my health.  I want to be a  healthy role model for my girls.  Putting myself first is not selfish.  I need to physically take care of myself so that I have the energy to be able to take care of my family. 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Be Enough: When Enough is Not Enough

  1. katery says:

    you are exactly right, in order to take care of your children properly you need to take care of yourself first, and that means making sure you get some “you” time.

  2. You can do it! I know that during the hustle and bustle of all of our responsibilities we get lost….but we have to conciously put ourselves first. Always. You got this. xo

    • Thank you so much, Kim. P.S. I wish I had you prick my finger yesterday for the A1C screening. This nurse was super sweet, but my finger was still stinging by the end of the day. I wish I could have pricked myself. : – ) I did enough of it while I was pregnant with both girls to last me a lifetime. I know my risks, and I need to take care of myself. I can do it! Just keep taking baby steps.

Leave a Reply

