My new normal with a side of anxiety

I met with my lovely psychiatrist/internal medicine doctor yesterday afternoon.  I am so blessed to have found her.  I always feel validated and heard after I have an appointment with her.  I feel as relaxed as I do after having a yoga session.  She exudes calmness and tranquility.

I was asked last week to help assist my old team at work.  This sent me into a tailspin of anxiety.  I was worried about splitting my focus and not giving either team as much attention and focus as they needed.  I consulted with my teammates and two other colleagues.  My boss was unfortunately out of the office.  I received this request from my boss’s boss so I could not refuse. 

I took one for the team, and I made the decision to commit to five hours a week for the next three to four weeks to assist my old team.  Based on the ebb and flow of my workload, I could not commit to a particular day.  My old boss agreed, and she is giving me fairly easy tasks to complete.  I can focus my attention and concentration on continuing to learn the ropes at my new job. 

Another trigger for my anxiety has been weaning Skeeter.  Her last nursing session was on Memorial Day.  My friend Jaime wrote a wonderful post that really resonated with me. http://jamesandjax.com/2012/06/18/the-weaning-blues  It was time, and both Skeeter and I were ready.  I miss the closeness that we shared.  It has been very bittersweet since she is the last child that I will nurse.  We have decided to keep our family to just two beautiful girls.

In light of this anxiety, I am now on a very low dose of an anti-anxiety medication to help me through this period of intense anxiety.  Once my duties are 100% with my new team, I hope that this anxiety dies down to its manageable buzz instead of this currently incessant roar.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My new normal with a side of anxiety

  1. quinn0808 says:

    I hope everything gets better!

  2. leannshka says:

    Good luck in reaching that manageable buzz!🙂

  3. jamesandjax says:

    Thanks for posting this. I appreciate when we gang up on a topic that I don’t see discussed very often in the blog world–like anxiety, especially when it’s hand in hand with weaning.

    Keep me posted on how things are going! It has been so helpful talking with you about this!

    • Thank you so much. I am so glad we can help each other through this. I want to keep blogging about this. I was stunned at the lack of information out there. I still suffer from anxiety, and I want to keep blogging about my ongoing struggle.

Leave a Reply

