Just Be Enough: My Top 10

I spent a lot of time reflecting on this week’s Just Be Enough prompt – what 10 things do you need for your Just Be Enough Journey? My top 10 list is my set of guiding values on what I need to just be enough.

Faith – I have posted on my blog on my journey back to the Church.  I still am not attending as much as I would like.  I have rediscovered the importance of my spirituality and my prayer life. https://tranquilamama.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/a-revelation/ 

Hope – I learned through my struggles with postpartum depression to hold on to the little moments of hope.  Hope helped sustain me through the early months of my diagnosis.  I knew that there was a light at the end of the tunnel, and that I would eventually get better. 

Love – My husband, my girls, my parents and my immediate and extended family provide me with so much love.  I am so blessed to have this unconditional love and support even when I’m being a total pain in the ass or making a mountain out a molehill.

Humor – A wonderful local blogger, Alexandra of http://www.gooddayregularpeople.com that I admire has spoken often about the use of humor as a way to survive the early parenting years.  Life can be ridiculous, and acknowledging that makes those tough days better.

Self-confidence – A former colleague of mine told me to visualize myself in my current role.  She said that I had to “own it”.  I am not completely trained and up to speed, but I can contribute in a meaningful way.  I bring a unique perspective to the position based on my previous work experience.

Lifelong learning – This new job can make my head swim with complete information overload at times, but I am learning so much.  I am blessed to work for a company that is dedicated to improving the lives of patients through our medical technology. 

Honesty – I realized that I didn’t want my girls to grow up thinking that they needed to be superwoman.  My struggle with perfectionism made me realize that I need to examine myself and see what I need to feel fulfilled as a woman and as a mother. 

Passion – I am rediscovering my passion for writing, exercising, reading and immersing myself in my second language.  These passions help fuel my creativity. 

Kindness – My favorite quotes is from Plato: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”  I am learning to treat not just others but myself with kindness.  Being kind to myself and having positive self-talk increases my self-confidence.

Empathy – One of the reasons I started my blog was to share my experience with postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  I wanted to pay it forward.  I received so much support from the #ppdchat community on Twitter, in particular one of the members of the JBE team, editor Robin Farr of http://farewellstranger.com .  By simply responding to an e-mail of mine, Robin was a helping hand guiding me out of the darkness.  She made me feel less alone.  Isn’t that what we are all looking for – connection with others?

What things do you need on your journey? 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just Be Enough: My Top 10

  1. quinn0808 says:

    I love this. Wish I could get to this place. One day

    • You will get there. I am still a work in progress. Some days are better than others. I attribute a lot of my renewed self-confidence to you and the rest of the #ppdchat ladies. I felt so much love and support as I started the new job. I walked taller and made a conscious effort to use positive self talk.

  2. i love that quote by plato.
    A lot of the things I need are based on my stupid illness and what keeps me sane…which I think a lot of people do too.
    I need my family first and foremost. If I have them then I’m golden.
    And drugs🙂

    • A lot of these qualities were muted a lot by my PPD and PPA. The drugs, my therapist & my family were what got me through this. I need this list of 10 to keep me mentally healthy and to keep my anxiety in check. Thank goodness for the drugs for getting me back to my new “normal”. : – )

  3. Robin Farr says:

    Oh Jen. I’m still so very, very glad we connected. I think you’re incredibly strong and I admire the work you do to find balance while helping others along the way. Thank you for the shout out – that means a lot.

    And I love that quote by Plato- it made me think differently when I was really struggling.

    • I am hoping that we get a chance to connect in real life as well. Thank you for the compliment. It’s a work in progress – trying to find balance and help others. That quote by Plato means so much more to me now after my struggles.

  4. Rach DonutsMama says:

    You’ve shown nothing but kindness to me along this journey and I’m incredibly grateful for that.

  5. PushDumpFatButton says:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Leave a Reply

