I need a Pensieve

True confession: I am a huge Harry Potter nerd.  In fact I own all 7 Harry Potter books in hardcover.  I cannot wait to read these books out loud to the girls.  This week I really need a Pensieve.  I started at my new position this week.  I am still with the same company just in a different building with an upgraded title. 

My mind is just filled to the brim with all the new information that I am learning.  The bonus of my mentor/trainer is that she leaves me downtime to digest all the material I am learning.  I have been taking notes like the cum laude student I was in college.  I am not kidding when I tell you that I seriously helped the majority of my class pass Organizational Communication my senior year.  I read the material before the professor presented it in class, and then I took notes during lecture. 

Because my brain is so full of all this new information, I am forgetting easy things.  Where do I sit? Where is my cell phone?  Did I mail that Mother’s Day card to my grandma next door? When I leave the restroom at work, I sometimes get lost and wander around until I find my desk.  Luckily I haven’t wandered into the same people so they don’t take pity on me. 

The biggest benefit besides my promotion and raise is a Starbucks cafe on campus.  My caffeine addiction is in full swing which is necessary when you hit the dreaded afternoon slump with a training session.  The other benefit is that I no longer get premium parking like the other, smaller building.  I am getting a great workout wandering throughout the campus and the parking lot.  I still haven’t rediscovered the nature trails on this end of campus yet.  I cannot find the site that shows me the map.  Sigh, dreaded brain drain.

I am really enjoying this new position, and I am chomping at the bit to get started.  I need to complete one additional training to get full access to one of the tools that I absolutely need.  Then I have to wait 48 hours for the system to update that my training has been completed.  And then I get the password to Dumbledore’s office. 

This transition has been tough on my family.  My husband has been a saint in picking up the slack for all the housework while I am passed out in Munch’s bed, drooling and snoring.  Munch’s bedtime routine is for us to tell each other about our days.  I fall asleep shortly after she finishes talking.  Thursdays I have an early morning meeting at 7 a.m., so my husband is in charge of getting Munch and Skeeter out the door.  Skeeter was heartbroken on Thursday morning when I said goodbye.  That meant for a very clingy girl who did not want to leave her mama’s side for an instant last night.  That also made her stay awake until an ungodly hour to make sure that mama wasn’t going anywhere. 

This weekend should be the respite that we need.  My parents are coming up so that my husband and I can go out with friends on a belated anniversary dinner.  Both my husband and I can get help on some household projects.  Hopefully I can remember what my projects are.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I need a Pensieve

  1. anonymousmomma says:

    So proud of you for taking this head on! Can’t wait for you to get the keys to Dumbledore s office😉

    Hope you get a nice relaxing time with your hubby.

  2. I love that you have the Harry Potter books ready and waiting. I do as well.😉 I hope you get peace soon. Hope your date night was fun! You are doing great!

  3. PushDumpFatButton says:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Leave a Reply

