Be Enough Me: The Woman in the Mirror

When I look in the mirror, I see an old friend smiling back at me.  She went missing last year, caught up in the throes of postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  I am rediscovering myself and my passions.  I see a woman closer to forty (eek!) instead of thirty who can still pass for thirty.  Thank you Mom and Dad for your wonderful genes!  Seriously my folks are in their sixties, and they don’t look it at all. 

I see eyes full of kindness and empathy.  I see that playful twinkle in my eyes.  I see a mouth that encloses a powerful voice that can make beautiful music.  I see a smile that can light up a room and cheer up a friend.  I see a cute figure that I finally feel comfortable showing off.  I see a belly that is stretched out that carried two big babies on my 5′ 1″ frame.  Munch was 9 pounds, 3 ounces, and Skeeter was 8 pounds, eleven ounces.   I see a woman who is finally comfortable in her own skin and in who she is.  I see the confidence, humor and passion back in her eyes.  Welcome back old friend!  It’s so good to see you again. 

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Be Enough Me: The Woman in the Mirror

  1. Jenn@so this is love says:

    You are beautiful🙂 lovely post

  2. katery says:

    so glad to hear it!

  3. You are just too cute! Love that you’re welcoming yourself back.🙂

    • Thank you sweetie. I really felt like I was just not really present for a while. Now I see myself as I really am, not as the person depression made me think I was.

  4. You do look super young! You go girl! Welcome back. Glad you’re feeling better!

  5. story3girl says:

    Love this! You are adorable!

  6. You are beautiful, and I love that you decided to use your picture from our conversation on your blog!🙂

  7. What a beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

