What’s in a Label?

Today I am linking up with Just Be Enough for the very first time.  A challenge was issued to change the conversation around judging other women.  I confess that I used to judge other moms all the time.  I was so insecure in my own parenting choices as a first time mom that I was extremely defensive about everything.  I would get upset at anything anyone said to me.  After the birth of my second, I was prepared to defend our parenting choices as “our child, our family, our decision”.  What I wasn’t prepared for was the relentless second guessing of myself with postpartum depression and anxiety.  I judged myself more harshly than anyone could ever have judged me.

I am more than the woman who used to break out in hives from stress and anxiety which lead to a previous diagnosis of Generalized Anxiety Disorder. 

I am more than my postpartum depression and my postpartum anxiety.

I am so much more than my mental health struggles.  These illnesses are a part of me, but they do not define me.  These struggles have given me a chance to see how many women struggle with motherhood and defining themselves.  I choose now to listen to other moms.   I do not rush to judge anymore because I do not know the circumstances of their particular situation.  I choose to share my struggles and my joys with others in hopes that other moms will realize that they are not alone.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s in a Label?

  1. katery says:

    i used to be judgmental of other people’s parenting before i had my own child, isn’t that ridiculous?? i’m happy to say i am waaay less judgmental now than i was back then🙂

    • I was also judgemental of other people’s parenting before I had my oldest daughter. It’s not ridiculous. I had this idea in my head of the parent that I was going to be. Now I realize that we are all just winging it.

      • katery says:

        totally. and there are also different ways of doing things, not necessarily wrong, just different.

  2. I don’t have children, but I confess, I’ve been Miss Judgey-Pants of mothers in public before. As my close friends began having children, and I became a godmother, I realized that no matter what I’m going through, someone else has it harder. So I try to reserve my judgments. You never know unless you’ve walked in someone’s shoes!

    • Yes, this has been my biggest takeaway as I struggled with my mental health issues. “You never know unless you’ve walked in someone’s shoes!” I find that I am more forgiving and less judgemental.

  3. Our health and mental issues are just part of us, they are not us or who we are. Peace and strength for your ongoing challenges. 🙂

    • Yes, this is so true – “Our health and mental issues are just part of us, they are not us or who we are.” I continue to be challenged by my anxiety, but I am reaching out and asking for help when I need it.

  4. Robin Farr says:

    Applauding. You are so much more than that experience or that aspect of who you are.

Leave a Reply

