Mother’s Pride

My friend, Charity started a blog carnival that is all about mother’s being proud of their accomplishments and celebrating their own individual paths to motherhood.  I love this idea.  I have spent so much of my early years of motherhood doubting my choices and second guessing myself.  I am finally settling into my own as a parent after 4 1/2 years and two lovely little girls later.

I am proud of breastfeeding both my girls for over a year.  I wanted so hard to make it to a year, and I nursed Munch my oldest for 14 months.  I am currently nursing my youngest Skeeter who is 17 months.  Nursing was challenging with both girls.  Munch nursed only with a nipple shield; she had a mild form of tongue tie.  I had a major oversupply with Skeeter, and she spent the first six weeks gagging and spitting up from my forceful letdown. 

I am also proud of pumping at work three times a day for a total of 18 months, combining both nurslings.  It was an exercise in time management to make time in my busy workday to generate this milk for my children.  I came to see these pump breaks as a respite and some “me” time. 

I am proud of being a mom who works outside the home and walks the tightrope of work/life balance.  I am so proud of myself for getting an outstanding review during the toughest year of my life.  It gave me so much validation that I was still able to function at a high level at work. 

I am proud of being a Warrior Mom.  I spent last year in the throes of postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  I did the work to get better.  I reached out for help.  I sought the help of a therapist and medication to help me get better.  I continue to use both my online and in real life social support networks.

I am proud of being the silly mom who loves to sing and dance with her girls.  I am proud of the great sense of humor that both my husband and I have that allowed us to navigate this experience together.  I am proud of becoming a more empathetic mom and spouse.  I am proud of having the courage to ask the tough questions of my husband to assist me in my recovery.  I am proud of becoming a better listener by taking my husband’s feedback to heart.  I am proud of trying each day to work on patience. 

 

Please join us and tell us what you are proud of.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mother’s Pride

  1. Thank you for joining in the carnival! I am loving hearing everyone’s pride and it sounds like this was very therapeutic for you!

    My hat is off to you, pumping at work three times a day! I often wonder how pumping working mamas do it – I’m sure it takes lots of organization and sacrifice. You have so much to be proud of!

    • Thank you Susan. I am loving the Mother’s Pride Carnival too. It has been a wonderful celebration of how we all parent.
      Pumping at work is challenging. I could write a whole post on how I did it. I didn’t always like it, but it was important to me to provide breast milk.

  2. Great post! I too am in awe of the pumping. My eye twitches just at the sound of that thing.

  3. jamesandjax says:

    I’m proud of you, too! xoxo

  4. @YaelSaar says:

    so proud of you my darling!
    And as an oversupply nurser myself, and after exclusively pumping for a8 months with my first who couldn’t nurse no matter how hard we tried, well, knowing we both share intimate knowledge of these hardships makes me love you even more…

  5. story3girl says:

    You are a fantastic mom. I look to you for inspiration all the time. You have so much fun with your girls. So glad you wrote this.

  6. You should be proud! Thank you for linking up!

  7. Happy to see you out here, blogging truthfully, and sharing your authentic words.

    I wish the whole world was this way.

    xo

  8. Your incredible! Working and being a mum is something I could never do – but I am proud of those who can (and thumbs up with keeping up the BFing) !

  9. katery says:

    i am so proud of you for actually being proud of yourself! so many people struggle with self doubt and end up beating themselves up over nothing, it’s really awesome that you are able to be so positive about so many things, good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

