Fitness Fridays: Week 2 of PiYo

I am sitting with my planner, a copy of my 10k training program, and the PiYo program. I am loving PiYo for the strength and flexibility. I am running four times a week as part of my 10k program. Traditional strength training would cause my legs to fatigue too much so I’m sticking to yoga classes twice a week and PiYo six days a week. Hence the need for a consolidated exercise schedule.

So what is PiYo? It’s a low impact but high intensity workout that combines Pilates and yoga inspired moved. It is developed by Chalene Johnson of Turbofire and Turbo Jam. So far I am loving this workout. I am feeling more flexible and strong. All I am using is simply my body weight. As someone who practices yoga regularly, this workout challenges me. I am still modifying some of the moves in order to not overdo it. This workout is ideal for anyone who wants to improve their strength and flexibility.

I love Chalene’s no nonsense approach. She makes me laugh, and she makes me think. Some exercise DVDs are so cheesy that I am unable to stay focused. I end up giving up on the program. This one is definitely a keeper. It is perfect for folks who are training for races, both running and cycling. PiYo is self-care for the body that is so tight.

20140801-214511.jpg

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Week 2 of PiYo

  1. John says:

    I’ve fallen in love with my bodyweight training program (I have a circuit that I do a couple of days a week, and a B-workout that I do during the rest days – I always cool down with some held yoga poses) . . . being able to work out most anywhere opens up a LOT (though today I’m looking at pull-ups, pistols, pike push-ups, one-armed push-ups, leg lifts, and inverted rows . . . and working up the motivation to go over lunch isn’t happening as easily as I’m used to). Glad you’ve found a program that works for you.

    • Thanks John. This program really complements my running. I am motivated at lunch to head to our fitness center because I am registered and paid for the yoga classes. Otherwise I need to get in the workout early in the morning or late at night after the girls have gone to sleep.

Leave a Reply

