Fitness Fridays: Hitting the Reset Button

I have a confession to make. I have fallen off of the fitness wagon again. I have been choosing unhealthy snacks again. Life got stressful, and I turned to my comfort food. I stopped exercising as much. I did not plan the fitness into my schedule. I had started a new program which I loved, and then I slacked off again. My sense of follow through is my downfall when it comes to my fitness.

I know that making those small consistent changes will add up to big results. I need to remind myself that I am only human. Dust myself off, and hit that reset button. This week I have planned my workouts, and I have another new running buddy. I found yet another running group in my area that meets in the early mornings on Saturdays to run a few miles. Running has become a part of my life, and I need to incorporate the other key elements of fitness in consistently which is my strength and flexibility. The new yoga session started back up again at work, and I am doing two classes a week which really helps my tight hamstrings and hip flexors. I love running, but I do not want that to be my only avenue for exercise. I know the dangers of overtraining and possibly injuring myself. PiYo and yoga are what my body desperately needs to maintain and increase my flexibility and strength.

20140718-225234.jpg

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Hitting the Reset Button

  1. Glad you climbed back on the wagon. The weather is very cool here today so I am going to try and run. I really hate running on the treadmill. I avoid it at all costs.

    • Did you get a chance to run outside. I loathe the dreadmill. Give me sub zero windchill and a face mask so I can run outside! The treadmill makes me dizzy, and it’s boring.

Leave a Reply

