My lifeline through PPD and PPA #PostpartumProgress10

After the realization that I was not okay, I turned to Google to figure out exactly what I was struggling with.  Mercifully it led me to Postpartum Progress and Katherine Stone. I spent hours on her blog.  The best source of information was the list of symptoms in plain mama English.  From there, I registered to receive the daily hope e-mails where were missives of love, encouragement and hope that helped me hang on in my darkest hours.  From there I began reading as many of the blogs written by fellow Warrior Moms as I could.  Then one of them talked about a twitter chat which led me to #ppdchat and the amazing Lauren Hale, another fierce advocate in her own right.

I found hope, love, inspiration, and camaraderie within the Warrior Mom community.  As I began my blog, I received so much support from the PPD community.  As I continued towards my journey to recovery, I kept thinking about wanting to give back.  I had received so much love and support.  What could I do? I was just one voice.  How much impact could one voice have?

I got to meet Katherine at BlogHer 2013 in Chicago.  I saw this incredibly tall woman with stunning red hair.  I could not believe this gorgeous woman was Katherine.  I stood, waiting for a break in the conversation. When Katherine turned around, A’Driane was right next to me to introduce me.  Thank goodness she was there!  I had no words for a few minutes, just tears.  How do you adequately thank the woman who saved your life?

The following day I went to the Pathfinder session led by Katherine and Cheryl Contee.  I have never been more inspired in my life.  Listening to those two amazing thought leaders was mind-blowing!  I took furious notes.  My vision for how I could make a difference started to take shape.  Both Cheryl and Katherine discussed their visions for the future of the organizations that they led.  When Katherine mentioned the Warrior Mom Leadership team, it hit me with a ton of bricks.  The community that Katherine has built is such an amazing community of support, friendship and advocacy.  In that moment, I knew that I would walk through the fire for Katherine and all the Warrior Moms past, present and future.

10494522_713788095334591_102390676734363160_n

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My lifeline through PPD and PPA #PostpartumProgress10

  1. And now you are such an incredibly powerful part of that team. xx

  2. Pingback: A Whole Lotta Warrior Moms Say Thank You, Katherine, for 10 AMAZING Years - postpartum depression | Postpartum Progress

  3. Beautiful wonderful post. I have actual tears in my eyes reading it.

Leave a Reply

