Welcome to the frozen tundra: my love letter to wind chills

Baby it’s been cold outside. We spent the day in footy pajamas and lots of layers.  It was so cold that school had been cancelled, yet my husband had to go into work.  He had the ability to work from home, but his boss was not accommodating at all.  Moving on to a happier topic, I typically have a light meeting day. 

This day consisted of four phone calls for me as pointed out by my sweet Munch. “You were on the phone a lot“, she declared.  Only one of the four phone calls was a teleconference where I just listen in.  I threw my plan for the day up in the air, and I decided that we would have a fun day even with me working. 

My amazing boss was very understanding as my children screamed at me on our biweekly one on one.  He had no updates for me, but I had several updates for him.  At one point during our call, I excused myself.  I hissed to my daughters to go upstairs and play because Mommy needs to talk to Mr. S.  It is very important.  Once I am done with this call, then we will have our picnic lunch. 

Yes, we had an indoor picnic lunch complete with our fancy white tablecloth.  My girls stared at me, dumbfounded.  “It’s all white.  Won’t it get messy?” gasped Munch.  “So what?” I replied.  “It’s okay to make messes”.  (Clearly my children think that I have been replaced by the Pod People or a zombie at this point) Once the girls got over their shock, our lunch was full of laughter and story telling.  Skeeter blessed both Munch and I by taking a nap after our picnic lunch.  Munch and I got some much-needed one on one time, and we made banana nutella muffins together.  My biggest girl got what she needed on this day where cabin fever peaked. 

I realized that I just need to let go and relax.  I cannot do it all on these types of days, nor should I try to.  I had a fantastic day even though  we did not leave the house.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to the frozen tundra: my love letter to wind chills

  1. story3girl says:

    I love this. You are such a fun mom. It’s nice to let go sometimes.

Leave a Reply

