Blessing in Disguise

Two weeks ago I spent the day working from home with my sick Munchkin.  Normally on these sick days, I stress myself out by trying to accomplish all the things on both the home and work front. I realized that I need to reframe my thinking of success.  I have been working on not multi-tasking.  This approach does not make me more efficient.  It increases my anxiety, and it overwhelms me.  I lose my focus. 

Today I let my sweet girl stay in her adorable footy pajamas all day long.  I pumped her full of fluids, and I let her lounge on the floor and watch TV and movies to her heart’s content.  We played a rousing game of Chutes and Ladders which is way more fun than I remembered.  She napped for a glorious ninety minutes.  Munch hasn’t napped for that long in at least two years. While she napped, I worked in the stillness and quiet, lit only by the glow of my laptop and our Christmas tree.  After her nap, we made chocolate chip cookies for Skeeter’s Christmas program on Thursday.  At bedtime, she read us bedtime stories (the Christmas story) from her children’s Bible.  It was a magical day with my oldest girl, and I am so glad that I stayed present.  Too often, I do not give her my full attention.  Life gets so busy, and I feel pulled in too many directions.  When I approach my day with intention and mindfulness, I am able to accomplish a lot and make some amazing memories.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessing in Disguise

  1. Jessica says:

    So true. I gotta practice a lot more of that but have noticed that since my Twitter sabbatical I am now mindful……obviously ;)

Leave a Reply

