Dare: My One Word Update

My journey has been a bit rocky as I try to find my footing.  The frantic pace of work, kids, housework and working on the LTYM show has not allowed me as much time as I wanted to write about my one word.  I tend to withdraw into myself when I am not feeling very confident.   Thankfully I have a strong support system of friends.  Alexandra reminds me that I know what I know.  Story reminds me to give myself grace and reminds of all that I am juggling.  I do not want to complain because I have these amazing opportunities and challenges.  Some days I want to shut off my brain nad sleep.  Instead I wake up and jot down ideas for the blog, for LTYM, for work and reminders to myself. 

My biggest challenge so far has been sticking to my exercise routine.  I got a bit discouraged that the numbers on the scale are not budging; however, my clothes are fitting better.  My lovely personal trainer, K, suggested a program at our fitness center that measures my current body composition. I can use it as a tool to measure my progress.  I realized that I underestimate my own physical strength.  I am capable of much more when I am gently pushed by my personal trainer.  I did crunches for the first time in years.  I normally loathe crunches, but K makes my workouts fun.  I am finally deciding to take another class at the fitness center besides yoga and zumba.  K teaches a spinning class early Thursday mornings, so I am braving the early hours to try it out this week.

My fearless director, Alexandra and I are e-mailing, direct messaging each other and calling each other on the phone daily as we work towards bringing Milwaukee its inaugural production of Listen to Your Mother.  Alexandra is a lovely soul, and we work together in harmony and synchronicity.  This project is challenging me to push beyond my comfort zone.  I am full of joy and confidence as Alexandra reminds me of what expertise and strength I bring to our team of two.  I am grateful daily for her friendship and belief in me.  We are finalizing our venue, and we are finalizing our charity.   I am currently scheduling our auditions for March 2nd and 3rd.  I am so excited to bear witness to all of these wonderful stories.  OneWord2013_Dare150

How is your progress?  Has it been like mine, one step forward, two steps back?  How are you doing after your first month of your one word?

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dare: My One Word Update

  1. mindbender99 says:

    Keep up the good work… Hope all is well with you! :)

  2. You’re a gem, Jen.

    This proves LTYM–changing lives by empowerment, for those in front and behind the scenes. Claiming ourselves back. You do bring so much, and you are a blessing to anyone who knows you.

    I love you.

    xo

  3. story3girl says:

    Oh honey. You are so brave and strong. I’m proud to know you and to watch you do great things,

    • Thank you sweetie. Today I do not feel very brave. I just feel overwhelmed by all my feelings. I know that I will make it if I keep taking baby steps. Your support and words of encouragement help me so much.

  4. Jessica says:

    Remember to be kind to yourself. You are doing great and I am proud of everything you are doing. I don’t see two steps back, I see pauses.

  5. Jessica says:

    Grrr. Sent too soon, what I mean is just remember how far you have come. Don’t ever forget that

Leave a Reply

