Journey towards strength

I am finally not feeling sore after my first personal training session this past Tuesday.  As I stated in my previous post about my one word for 2013, I was committing to challenge myself this year.  I needed to rebuild my core strength after the births of my two girls.  I made it through my first session.  I found reserves of strength and flexibility that I did not know I had.  I even had fun and joked with my trainer while I was lifting weights.  This half hour flew by as I alternated lifting weights with jogging laps around the indoor track.  I have never been more grateful for my yoga practice which allowed me to breathe through these exercises.

I finally realized that making time for exercise is essential for my mental and physical wellbeing.  High cholesterol and diabetes run in my family.  If I want to model healthy behavior and choices for my girls, I need to take care of myself.  I took it easy this past week as I recovered from my first training session.  I practiced yoga, and I walked.  I also realize that I tend oto overcompensate and push myself too hard.  I am easing back into exercise after being very inconsistent the past few months.  Tonight I am feeling anxious, so I am taking a break from my computer and relaxing into some vinyasa flow yoga.  Exercise helps clear my mind and stop my busy brain.  Any advice for me as I continue this journey towards wellness?  What has worked for you?

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Journey towards strength

  1. Jessica says:

    I am trying to get back into exercising. I used to do zumba daily which was awesome but stopped once we moved to the townhome. Now? Ha. I am tryin to motivate myself but this has been hard to do alone!

Leave a Reply

