Thankful for our preK teacher

I am so blessed to have my girls enrolled in a wonderful preschool/daycare.  Munch’s teacher is Miss K.  This teacher is an angel.  She is incredibly creative; her bulletin boards are a work of art.  Miss K is preparing the children for kindergarten, but she is also imparting life lessons.  Munch adores Miss K.   

Miss K made my morning the other day just before Christmas break.  She pulled me aside to show me something that Munch had made.  Miss K remarked that Munch was innovative.  Munch can see something and recreate it.  She has a wonderful gift, and Miss K’s comment showed me what a thoughtful teacher she is. 

Munch received the coolest gift from her great-aunt this Christmas.  She received a book that shows her how to draw animals.  I posted the pictures that Munch drew on Facebook, and her lovely teacher was one of the first people to like her drawings.  I feel so blessed to have such a kind and caring professional like Miss K to help guide my sweet Munch. 

I learned all about the curriculum for this school year just before the school year started in a meeting with Miss K.  At that point I confided in Miss K that I had suffered from postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety after I had Skeeter.  I advised Miss K that Munch had experienced some emotional trauma.  Munch saw me not coping very well.  I shouted a lot, and I cried a lot.  I advised Miss K that Munch and I together were learning new coping skills on managing our emotions.  Miss K offered me nothing but support and praise for helping instill coping mechanisms for my sensitive Munch.  I pray that we find as wonderful and as caring of a kindergarten teacher for Munch.  We will not forget Miss K.  She is truly one of a kind.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful for our preK teacher

  1. Oh Jen, I’m so thankful Munch has a teacher like Miss K. I wish there were more of her!

    • Rach, I feel so blessed. We took our time choosing our daycare/preschool. I feel like we were guided to that center. It’s close to home, and the teachers and directors have become like family to us.

  2. Jessica says:

    That’s awesome. I often worry about the emotional trauma monkey has gone through, I hope to get a great teacher as you did for Munch

    • Jessica, I thought I was going to be sick when I told Miss K my story. It was the first time that I had disclosed to anyone at our daycare/preschool about what had happened. I was met with nothing but love and understanding. I think that it helps to talk to the teacher about each child’s personality and quirks. It provides them an emotional insight into what goes on at home.

Leave a Reply

