My One Word 2013

When I look back on the past year, I see a year filled with growth in all aspects of my life.  I started a new job in May, and that transition challenged me in so many ways.  I finally feel settled in this new cubicle with my colleagues and my manager.  My personal growth stemmed from self-reflection on this blog and with my monthly visits to my therapist. I made new friends both online and in real life.  I told my story of my postpartum depression and my postpartum anxiety to my extended family and my coworkers. I regained my confidence in myself and my abilities particularly in the creative realm.  I feel so blessed and so grateful for the many opportunities that I received last year. 

This year I want to continue on my journey of growth and discovery.  I chose the word “Dare”.  Webster defines the word “dare” as “to be sufficiently courageous to”, “to challenge to perform an action especially as a proof of courage”, and “to have the courage to contend against, venture, or try”.  Being a co-producer of the inauguaral Listen to Your Mother Show Milwaukee is a dream come true.  I am working with these two amazing women who are fantastic storytellers.  Each planning meeting is a master class in writing and creating.  Check out our site for updates -http://www.listentoyourmothershow.com/milwaukee/ I signed up for my first blogging conference ever.  I will be at BlogHer ’13 in July in Chicago.  I keep taking steps to push past my comfort zone and really live my life. I am getting a personal trainer to help me continue to push myself physically in my continued journey towards better physical fitness.  I am doing the Dirty Girl Mud Run again in August.  I am so excited about the possibilities and challenges that 2013 will bring.   I have not felt this energized and excited in several years.  What is your one word?  Please share with me.

 

OneWord2013_Dare150

Isn’t this button gorgeous?  It was designed by the lovely Melanie at http://www.OnlyABreath.com.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My One Word 2013

  1. I love this because it’s that much closer to who’ll become in 2013, then 2014, and your girls see a thriving, ambitious mama. YOu soldier on, woman. Proud of you. (we should drive to BlogHer together….or train it together….)

  2. You rock. Love it. (And also? My xmas present from darling DH was a blogher ticket – still can’t quite believe it. But I might actually get to MEET you!!!)

    • Seriously?!? We will totally meet. I have no roommate accommodations yet. We could be roomies if you like. I’m so excited!!!

      • So. Stoked. I have the most unflattering picture post of me opening the Christmas gift – will be good for a laugh next week :)

        We’re actually roping the conference into a family vacay b/c DH grew up in Chicago – so he and the 2.5 year old will go explore / visit / ballgame it up while the 2 month old and I do the conference thing, Holy crap. 2 month old. *GAH*

      • That is awesome. You’ll have a baby by then. Holy cow!

  3. mindbender99 says:

    Nice work and best of luck on your new goals… My word would have to be “Focus”

  4. I love it!!!!!!!!!! I’ll be excited to hear about your BlogHer experience!! Funny story about the one word above “focus”… I use it a lot with my little guys in therapy and a parent once said “Do you tell her to focus a lot? She keeps telling me ‘Mama quiet, I gotta be focus! Focus focus focus!’” LOL. Have a DARING new year :)

  5. Jessica says:

    Love it and am so proud of you. my word is: Push. I’m pushing myself to do things my anxiety is telling me is too scary. Like jogging, finishing my book, getting a writing job. We can do this

  6. Pingback: Journey towards strength | tranquilamama

  7. Pingback: Dare: My One Word Update | tranquilamama

Leave a Reply

