Just Be Enough: Parenting with Postpartum Mood Disorders

Today I am linking up with Just Be Enough to talk about a cause that I hold close to my heart – postpartum mood disorders.  Since my diagnosis fifteen months from postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety, I have been searching for myself.  I finally feel like myself again.  I feel a bit more comfortable in my own skin each day.  I still struggle with generalized anxiety, but my anxiety has finally stabilized and is down to a low-level buzz instead of the red flashing lights and sirens in my mind warning me of danger ahead. 

Postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety made me feel like I could never be enough for my family.  I felt like I was worthless.  I felt like I was such a failure because I could not cope with my two girls.  I was undone by the daily morning routine.  I started this blog to tell my story about my recovery from PPD and PPA.  I wanted other moms to feel like they were not alone.  I read Katherine Stone’s blog, and I then started reading through the Warrior mom blogs.  I found so much hope and comfort reading the stories of moms who survived.  I was gently encouraged by friends to tell my story when I felt ready. I  guested posted for a few friends.  Finally I took the plunge and created my own little corner of the Internet.  I felt compelled to share my journey to being just a good enough mom.  I did not need to be a perfect mom.  I just needed to be myself.  My girls love me as just as I am.  I wanted other moms to realize that they are not alone in feeling like a failure as a mom.  That negative self-talk is the depression telling lies.  As I recovered from my postpartum depression and my postpartum anxiety, I realized that I was a good mom, some days even a great mom.  I needed to treat myself like I would treat my best friend.  Kindness is the greatest gift that a mom can give herself. 

 

Tell me about a cause that is near and dear to your heart.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

